Splendid Saturday!

Jimi Hendrix at the EMP by Tommia Wright

Jimi Hendrix at the EMP by Tommia Wright

Fun is a day in the city. Splendid is a day in the city with friends!

So where did we venture off to? The Experience Music Project/Science Fiction Hall of Fame!

Granted, the original Jimi Hendrix experience that took up an entire floor has been redone. The jam session rooms are plentiful and extend to an upper level. The Science Fiction Hall of Fame section has shrunk (due to remodeling/setting up the next exhibit, thankfully).

Jimi Hendrix outfit and drums by Tommia Wright

Jimi Hendrix outfit and drums by Tommia Wright

It’s amazing to see what impact the trio had while in London. Then again, to see the impact music has to people is also impressive – and personal.

Hendrix Illustration

Hendrix Illustration

Jimi Hendrix's Record Collection by Tommia Wright

Jimi Hendrix’s Record Collection by Tommia Wright

Despite the changes in layout, options and room to move, it was reassuring to see the “If VI was IX” display in the center:

If VI was IX at the EMP by Tommia Wright

If VI was IX at the EMP by Tommia Wright

While at the EMP, I decided to check a couple more items off my ‘silly things list’ – to play the drums and strum a guitar. My friend, V-, and I found an empty jam session room and took turns on the drums, guitar and keyboard for about ten minutes. Things learned – understanding my father’s lament when I had stepped into his guitar at a young age. I strum at equal levels with or without a pick. Drums can be FUN! (And I know I’m ‘too’ old to get a set at this stage in life, but I believe my keyboard has the setting somewhere on the console.

Will this change how I’ll compose additional songs? I don’t know.

I do know that my renewed outlook with music will have me take a closer listen to the songs I sing tomorrow.

Upper Window at the EMP by Tommia Wright

Upper Window at the EMP by Tommia Wright

What instruments have you picked up lately? What old songs have you found to sing in a new way?

 

This entry was posted in Photos, Ponderings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Splendid Saturday!

  1. Pingback: Thanks for all the Fish | twistingthreads

Drop a Note.

