Mischief Managed

Seattle and other Fun things March April 232

Power Wheel at the Falls by Tommia Wright

Today’s Daily Prompt asks, “To what extent is your blog a place for your own self-expression and creativity vs. a site designed to attract readers? How do you balance that? If sticking to certain topics and types of posts meant your readership would triple, would you do it?”

Well, let’s see…my reason for the tablet is primarily my play space and then the hopes of entertaining/enlightening readers and passersby. If I were to lean towards one way or the other…I’d say play space, personal discoveries, markers met, etc. in the hopes that the fun, fascinating finds might pique the interests of a few (or many – I’ll stick to my numerous claims of not knowing how to count (smile)).

To get through the “Blogging from A to Z” for the first time, I thought a ‘routine’ would be sane. My hat’s off to those who found ways to do double-duty of their regular routine *and* the A-to-Z line. I enjoyed my ‘groove’ of the Monday-to-Friday lineup here and my Camp NaNoWriMo snippet shares here. Oh, and add writings for NaPoMo (the collection to be posted later)… During this adventurous month, I was pleasantly surprised to gain some readers, some followers and an award nomination – thank you, Julie! To sum up the month – 60+ A-to-Z posts, 50,557 words on the novel, 30 poems and a mind spinning as fast as the wheel above (well, imagination required to place that back into the water pumps by the Falls and then the standstill – smile).

As for new bloggers read and found …about 150. New fun finds to follow….quite a few!

**Belated Addition** Thanks to the commenters for their enlightening insights re: the Questionable post. I did learn a lot about the purpose of the challenge and different takes on it from those who have done this before! Since this was my first time through, the only thing I could think of changing would be an easier way to navigate the Blogger sites to leave comments – half of them were reader/commenter friendly, others added to my bookmark collection. Otherwise, discovered many new blogs to read/follow. So that would be the chief takeaway from this fascinating challenge that I’ll probably sign up for again next year. ****

Would I focus on only certain things to triple the number of readers? I don’t think so – not if I were true to myself in creating what interests me, sharing things I enjoy and following whichever way the Muse takes me. If one favorite topic were to offend and suggestions made that I drop it (say the Snapshots or Psalms), I couldn’t,wouldn’t do it.

survivor_[2013]

This entry was posted in Blogging from A to Z, Daily Prompt/Post, Mischief, Anything, Yammering, Ponderings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Mischief Managed

  1. Nice one! Thanks for the pingback.

  2. Mari Collier says:

    Fantastic amount of writing. I’m so proud of you.

  3. dmauldin53 says:

    Congratulations on being a SURVIVOR! 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Contents of Stuph™ | Stuphblog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: My Blogs as Personal or Public Space. | My Daily Prompt Blog

  6. Pingback: Why I write? Why I share? [My personal Space] | 3rdculturechildren

  7. Wow! That’s a lot of new words and great accomplishments this month! Congrats!
    I wouldn’t continue to post if no-one ever read my blog, but I also wouldn’t change the content to attract readers because then it wouldn’t by my blog. It’s kind of like love or friendship, if you change yourself to get someone to love you, then they are loving someone else, not really you…meaningless.
    The one thing I am mindful of since I hope for readers is trying to keep my posts succinct. I also think this helps improve my writing skills, so it does benefit me too. And I suppose the order of topics considers the variety that perceived readers might enjoy. I don’t post everything that whim suggests in the order suggested. So while it’s not ALL about me, it’s all authentically me…and then I love the interaction that follows. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Why Blog? Reflections on A to Z Challenge | sherijkennedyriverside

  9. But I like the challenge associated with remaining creative with a purpose. Yes I would rise to that challenge of “conforming” or focussing on certain things to triple my readership.

    • tommiaw says:

      I like that phrase – “creative with a purpose.” I have no doubt you’d do a splendid job of creatively focusing on the things that would gather in more readers. (smile)

  10. Pingback: A CORINTHIANS KIND OF LOVE | hastywords

  11. Pingback: Personal Space | planningforaccidents

  12. Fascinating question you pose. Although I fear I’m too quick to respond that my blog is designed to do anything but attract readers/followers. I simply enjoy writing and haven’t yet invested myself in the skills necessary to market blog adequately.

    Since I’m a first time blogger, having started in April 2013 with the A to Z Challenge, much of the mechanics of how this works is still new to me. But the writing has always been important. I’m quite tickled to have discovered blogging both as a personal goal setter and a venue by which I can share my work. It’s been liberating and most enjoyable. The few folks who respond to my posts, including four who have nominated me for awards, have been quite generous in their remarks.

    But, to address your premise, I would probably choose to focus on the content of my writing rather than promoting my site.

    Thank you for a enjoyable post and for visiting my blog as well. You’re a delight to read.

    Cheers.

  13. Pingback: Personal Space | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Drop a Note.

