Wednesday Words – Garden Edition

Two enjoyable reads worth discovering or re-reading:

A Child’s Garden of Verses by Robert Louis Stevenson, to spark the imagination and be the seedling of the love of poetry.

Childs Garden Book of Verses

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

Secret Garden

What enjoyable childhood reads to you have?

This entry was posted in Mischief, Anything, Yammering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wednesday Words – Garden Edition

  1. Mari Collier says:

    Two of my favorite childhood books. My Child’s Garden of Verses wasn’t as fancy, but I remember it from the time I was three and attempted to color the illustrations. The covers were lost over the years, but I did not throw it away until I left Washington. The mold had gotten to it. I didn’t know then that freezing would have stopped the process. The Secret Garden I read in school (one of the county library monthly drops). I purchased it when I was an adult and enjoyed it again. Yes, it is still part of my library. Thanks for the reminder.

    • tommiaw says:

      Sorry about the loss of the book, and thanks for the ‘frozen remedy!’ Just discovered that my copy of “Secret Garden” fits nicely inside my lunch bag – think I have my break escape!

      • Mari Collier says:

        To kill mold in books: Put in black garbage bag. Squeeze out the air. Freeze for 24 hours. Take out and let dry for 24 hours. Return to garbage bag and freeze for another 24 hours. Let it dry and air out before putting it back in a bookcase. Sunshine is nice for the drying if you have it. If it was in a bookcase, freeze the books beside it too.

Drop a Note.

