Forest and the Trees

Forest and the Trees- October by Tommia Wright

Today’s Daily Prompt asks, “When you gaze out your window — real or figurative — do you see the forest first, or the trees?

Darn. This depends on various factors – are there certain trees that seem to stand on their own because of their vibrant colors? Or is it the fact that there are still forests standing while progress clears others down? Or it is a matter of re-evaluating what I think I’m doing with my many roles in life?

I’ve mentioned before how I’ll wander towards water, even created a Sketchbook Project about it. What I’ll wander towards next, what I like to disappear into would be the woods.

Seedlings and Shadows by Tommia Wright

Seedlings and Shadows by Tommia Wright

“In the woods we return to reason and faith.” –   Ralph Waldo Emerson  

“It is not so much for its beauty that the forest makes a claim upon men’s hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air that emanation from old trees, that so wonderfully changes and renews a weary spirit.”    Robert Louis Stevenson  

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Daily Prompt: Landscape | psarmmiey’s Blog

No Land in ‘Landscape’ | The Magic Black Book

Daily Prompt: Landscape | Of Glass & Paper

Daily Prompt: Landscape | Postcards from

The Difference Between a Tree and a Skyscraper | Daily Prompt: Landscape | likereadingontrains

The Forest or the Trees | Storm In A B-Cup

In da ‘hood | Relax…

Daily Prompt: Landscape | On My Front Porch

Daily Prompt: Landscape | A Glimps of HOPE

Of Browns and Greens to the Fresh Spring Breeze | the world behind the lens

Diversity, That Starts With D And That Rhymes With T And That Stands For Trouble | The Jittery Goat

Daily Post ~ The Forest First, Or The Trees? | Stories After Bedtime

May 9 Daily Prompt: Landscape | Nadeen’s Reading Corner

Daily Prompt: Landscape « Mama Bear Musings

Daily Prompt: Landscape | Nanuschka’s Blog

Daily Prompt: Landscape | JUkk

The Juxtaposition | The Lifepath Dialogues

Daily Prompt: Landscape | Basically Beyond Basic

God’s Beautiful Creation | HpWpBp

Daily Prompt: The sidewalk for the lizard | The Road 2 Cute Shoes

The vista or the view | Pigments of Life

Daily Prompt: Landscape | Mina Witteman

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt/Post, Mischief, Anything, Yammering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Forest and the Trees

  1. Pingback: Lens Flare | Travellin' Thru Rambles

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Trees In The Forest | My Daily Prompt Blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Landscape | On My Front Porch

  4. Denise Hisey says:

    I love the forest, too! I think I see the forest first sometimes, and sometimes the trees first.
    Like you, it just depends…

  5. Laura Eno says:

    Interesting question…I think I see the forest first, then zero in on particulars. Like you, I’m drawn to water, especially the ocean. I didn’t realize how much I’d miss it until I lived for a time in the mountains. It was the idea of not being able to go see it that bothered me rather than not actually seeing it.

    • tommiaw says:

      I know the feeling. Being in Denver was nice, but too far from the coast! There were some nice lakes, only a few hours’ drive away. Today’s walk was so refreshing, away from any traffic or people (for the most part).

  6. snosler says:

    That’s pretty – returning to faith in the woods indeed! Anyway, just stopping in to see what others wrote about for the prompt – Cheers!

  7. Pingback: Diversity, That Starts With D And That Rhymes With T And That Stands For Trouble | The Jittery Goat

  8. Pingback: Through the Glass | Stuphblog

  9. Pingback: Landscape? More Like Escape! – Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Landscape | life n me!

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Landscape | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  12. Pingback: Never mind the wood, watch out for the trees | The Daily Dilly Dally

  13. Reblogged this on 2013 A Year to Believe and Make It So and commented:
    The Forest and the Trees . . . . Let me recommend this blog post from Tommia’s Tablet

Drop a Note.

