“Normal” is a Myth

Unique Log by Tommia Wright

Unique Log by Tommia Wright

A day late, not quite the dollar short, this was inspired by the Daily Post PromptIs being “normal” — whatever that means to you — a good thing, or a bad thing? Neither?

“Normal is a myth.” Those were the first words one my professors said in a class I took at university. Which professor and which class, I don’t recall just yet, but it stuck with me.

Think back to your school days, be it degree-focused or earlier. What is it about ‘fitting in’ or ‘rebelling’ that seems to push the mindset of a particular age group? Is it conformity for conformity’s sake? Is it about rules – rigid, illogical, or otherwise?

Look at the sitcoms, the dramas, the various shows that offer characters that may/may not reflect us. Same for the movies and music.

There’s a quote/joke about normalcy: “Scientists say 1 out of 4 people is crazy. Check three friends. If they’re all right, it’s you.” Really? True, a lot can be said by the company you keep, but sometimes, the best ideas, the craziest ideas come from abnormal interpretations.

Then again, being ‘normal’ can’t be that bad, can it? Maybe safe, sane,  somewhat dull. Have a label given to you? Congrats – you’re ‘normal’ by someone’s sorting system, whatever that may be. Does the label fit, or do you care?

Normal’s a myth, there’s lots of uniqueness out there! (smile)

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt/Post, Joys of June and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “Normal” is a Myth

  1. I think the joy in being YOU surpasses all labels! ♥

  2. My one brother used to say, “We hide the normal ones in the closet.” Maybe it is why I write twisted tales. I don’t worry about it. Enjoy life.

  3. Denise Hisey says:

    When my kids tell me I’m weird (while grinning, of course) I always say “Thank you!”

    • tommiaw says:

      Funny, my mom responds the same way (smile). That’s what makes life more interesting and enriching – the varying degrees of ‘weirdness’ and how they can compliment each other once in a while.

  4. Joey says:

    Hehe…I’m glad I warranted a mention in your uniqueness list. Thank you. It was a great subject for a daily prompt. The internet and blogosphere has definitely opened my eyes and given me the courage to just let the weirdness hang out a bit.

  5. Pingback: REALITY STRIKES | hastywords

Drop a Note.

