Friday Fast One – Learning

The Stacks by Tommia Wright

The Stacks by Tommia Wright

Today’s Daily Prompt asks: Tell us a moment or an incident that you treasure  – not necessarily because it brought you happiness, but because it taught you something about yourself.

Well, let’s begin here, my first flight. To sum up, I had an idea in my head to try skydiving. Not that I have a fear of heights -granted my preference for heights includes a secure seat on a plane or inside a carriage of a Ferris wheel.

What did I learn that day, dressed in a jump suit, helmet fastened, complete with protective eye and ear wear? To quote from Peter Pan  – I could fly!

Letting go was a challenge for many different reasons, not to mention trust and confidence. Yet those couple of jumps allowed me to be free of the mental restraints I’ve mastered (and occasionally let win every now and then).

Have I scheduled a follow-up flight since then or checked off any other ‘bold adventures’ from my list (that my parents call the ‘midlife crisis stage)? No. But I haven’t put the list away, either.

What lessons have you learned and how?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt/Post, Joys of June, Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Friday Fast One – Learning

  1. Mari Collier says:

    For some reason, these types of questions and self-examination have always puzzled me. I have no idea why people indulge in them. One does what is necessary under any dire or mundane situation. If you think that makes me like an ox that just keeps plodding along, so be it.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: We Can Be Taught « Mama Bear Musings

  3. Pingback: Don’t be afraid | Vivir, que no es poco

  4. Pingback: ONE HOT MESS | hastywords

  5. Pingback: A Square Peg In A Round Hole | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Learning By Doing | My Daily Prompt Blog

  7. Pingback: We Can Be Taught! – The Fly & I | Khana's Web

  8. Pingback: Musings of a Sleepy Dreamcatcher | just another outlet

Drop a Note.

