Less Traveled

Roads Traveled by Tommia Wright

Roads Traveled by Tommia Wright

Today’s Daily Prompt asks,  Pinpoint a moment in your past where you had to make a big decision. Write about that other alternate life that could have unfolded.

(This will detour from the given topic.)

A friend of mine received a job offer out of state. I went to the same job fair without the same result, but went just the same. Why?

There was nothing in my home state holding me back; I had grown tired of teaching and because my father said ‘go for it!’ He’s the adventurous traveler; my mother prefers to stay home.  My brother had already taken a ‘slight detour-drive’ that way (supposedly it was just a weekend fishing trip, but I digress) and said ‘it’ll be fun!’

I’m the type of recovering workaholic who never ended one job without having another lined up. I had always assumed I’d continue teaching, but given the job I had left behind, spending my final employment year in retail, I had no idea what I was doing.

I didn’t feel comfortable with that.

So the Sunday’s leading up to departure for my first big move, I talked with Pastor S (who gave his last sermon this past Sunday) for guidance. He, like my father, said ‘let go; let God.’ Who knew what awaited me in Denver, but it was a move worth trying, a different road to travel on. Pastor S gave me six churches within a 15-mile distance from where I was moving to. That first Sunday, I drove to the first one in the stacks, the one less than 3 miles from ‘home.’

Did I end up teaching, despite my determination not to? Yes. Learned many things, too. Do I regret the near-decade in Denver? No. I was blessed with the friends and ‘family’ there and enjoy returning as time permits.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt/Post. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Less Traveled

  1. Pingback: meeting a chatmate | just another outlet

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | writinglikeastoner

  3. Iam Who Iam says:

    I like your Dad, I like what he said to you, and, most of all, I like that you dared to listen (despite the fact that the road less traveled is ALWAYS the scariest one!)

  4. Pingback: The Road Not Taken | Iam Who Iam

  5. Pingback: The Road Less Traveled: What’s Traveled is Traveled | Khana's Web

  6. Pingback: My Parallel Universe | Random, Assorted and Miscellaneous Thoughts

  7. Pingback: The Runaway | The Jittery Goat

  8. Mari Collier says:

    I’m sure all those who knew you in Denver felt blessed that you were among them!

  9. Pingback: The Life of a Gumshoe | Cheri Speak

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Is Love Enough? | My Daily Prompt Blog

Drop a Note.

