Friday Fast One – Fast Co., a Fast Read, and a Festival

Part of Fast Company’s “Creation Stories,” – Rick Gervis shares how he learned to write.

How about you? What prompted you to put pen/pencil to paper, to string strong scenes of storytelling?

If you haven’t read “Out Children are not Our Children” by Kevin Brennan, you should. The tiny tales are worth the time!

SNOBLOCKPARTY_COMP5

Speaking of time, if you’re looking for Saturday plans and you’re in the area, there’s a party going on!

Video | This entry was posted in Ponderings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Friday Fast One – Fast Co., a Fast Read, and a Festival

  1. Mari Collier says:

    What prompted me? Essays, book reports, and the assignment to write a story. All part of the lessons in a one room country school. That, plus a pastor who taught history along with the confirmation lessons. That was when I learned the German immigrants were early arrivals in Texas and the way they suffered during the Civil War because of the animosity they aroused by remaining stanch supporters of the Union.

  2. that was awesome! I love him and his crazy wit!

  3. 1WriteWay says:

    I started writing young enough that I don’t remember what compelled me to do it. All I can think is I wanted to tell a story but I was too shy to do it out loud. That’s still true of me 🙂 And thanks for mentioning Kevin’s book. I’ve read it too and really enjoyed it!

    • tommiaw says:

      If I remember correctly, my parents encouraged me to write mine down when I was little, too. (This may have been an attempt to lessen the chatterbox phase I was in.)
      Now the fun challenge is getting out of my comfort zone to read stories aloud.

  4. 1WriteWay says:

    I read my stories out loud when I belong to a “literary guild” in college a long, long time ago. It was difficult because I was much shyer then than I am now, but all of us members had to do it. I actually enjoy reading out loud, but not in front of an audience 🙂

Drop a Note.

