Daily Prompt – Identity

A delayed, two-part response to the Daily Prompt: “Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names?” Photographers, artists, poets: show us IDENTITY.

The video is in response to part two of the prompt: Show us Identity.

As for the meaning of my name, I keep that to myself, unless I’m pressed. What matters to me is that my parents had their reasons for gifting me with both names, and the rhythm the whole name makes sounds nice. (And to ‘debunk one friend’s friend’s remark’ – no, it wasn’t because my parents aimed to be cruel with unusual names)

While I don’t name children (unless Kit and Kat count), I do choose my characters’ names carefully, not having used the same name twice (that I know of).

Video | This entry was posted in Daily Prompt/Post, Ponderings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt – Identity

  1. Mari Collier says:

    I may or may not have told you how Mama came up with my name (she had to save it for almost 16 years as the first two were male children), but going into details like that I avoid on the internet. It is far too easy to find out about people. My daughter’s name is easy if you realize my husband loved folk music.

Drop a Note.

