Mirror, Mirror

Mirror ShotAll right, I’ll bite. Old photo for today’s Daily Prompt:

Look in the mirror. Does the person you see match the person you feel like on the inside? How much stock do you put in appearances?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us MIRRORED.

A nice reminder to put up a new photo page. (Even though now I know why I think I’ve seen part of this prompt before.)

I’m not good on reflective questions like these (pun intended). I not only have a PhD in Procrastination, but a degree in deflection on this.

No, I suppose I could take pause and reflect. I’ll say it’s a match I guess. Well, not the current photo above – those who know me know where to ‘find’  me (and no, I will NOT do Facebook!). Finally slightly thinner, hair’s shorter, camera’s bigger and I don’t slouch as much as I think I do (a few have other leanings on this).

If I were asked five or ten years ago if I saw myself where I am now (still adjusting to that move now two weeks/two days old, depending on how one wants to read files), I’d be doubtful.

Well, I always assumed I’d retire from a classroom like many of the teachers and mentors I have admired and been thankful for. I always thought my ‘second career’ would be as a librarian. So I’m in a different kind of classroom, with much more to learn (and have more excitement for that than fear, like I first thought). My ‘second career’ could be melded into this new one; I could say I’m a curator who happens to work with much more than books.

As for the creative soul on the inside- I’ve had fun in trying a variety of projects, meeting and working with different artists, and actually put a book to post! There are some endeavors I’ve done while in Denver that I probably won’t dare pick up here, but the quiet shell remains for a less-than-quiet person.

Appearances? On any given weekend, I’ll remain comfortable in jeans and a sweatshirt, not a care about the hair, and pay no mind to the condition of the socks on my feet (if I wear them). But now I’m rambling…

Here are some others reflective posts on today’s prompt:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt/Post and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Mirror, Mirror

  1. Pingback: Through the eyes of others… | alienorajt

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: FOREVER FLAWED | hastywords

  4. Pingback: Of mirrors and reflections | Concentrate On Yourself

  5. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror:rorriM ,rorriM | Khana's Web

  6. Pingback: The Clash/Daily Prompt, Mirrors | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  7. Pingback: Daily prompt: Mirror Mirror | The Wandering Poet

  8. Pingback: Funhouse! | Edward Hotspur

  9. Pingback: Who? Me? | Words 'n Pics...

  10. Pingback: Who? Me? | Words 'n Pics...

  11. Pingback: Always The Bridesmaid, Never The Bride | Pinstripes&Lipgloss

  12. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror | The Hickey Diaries

  13. Pingback: Mirror, mirror | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  14. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With Alex Hicks – “Silhouette of Distortion” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  15. I don’t know whatcha woulda been doing either, but I seriously think you deserved and earned that promotion!!! no matter how it came about!!! CONGRATS my friend!!!! 🙂

  16. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror: You’re always Exotic Somewhere « psychologistmimi

Drop a Note.

