Monday Media

RBF - Really Bland Face

RBF – Really Bland Face

Came across this article in the New York Times the other day only to shake my head and laugh. It’s official – no matter what kind of job you have, how hard you work, etc. – for some, it will only be “Face Value.”

I recall a time when, walking down the hall, I failed to make eye contact with someone and when I did, I said ‘hello’ with a slight smile because the person I had passed provided me enough work to extend my hours (and cancel my plans) for a week.

What  happened? The person I passed went to my boss, who in turn, called me in and questioned my performance and attitude. Did it matter I had already put in a long set of hours before this passing? Did it matter that I had (yet again) gone a better part of the day without a real break – where breaks were hard to come by? Did it matter that my focus was on the new projects provided to me by this person?

No.

I was instructed by my boss to 1. Smile more and 2. Bring my tone up an octave. (I’m an alto, not a soprano – but I digress). These two items were actually a part of my performance review for the quarter: Smile more. Bring voice up an octave.

Really? Based on one person’s feedback when most folks I knew saw me for the frequent smiler I was (and am)? I enjoyed reading some of the comments that followed the original article.

In the scheme of things, there are far more important things to ponder and pay attention to.

This entry was posted in Ponderings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Media

  1. Mari Collier says:

    LOL My first review said I laughed too much. Tweeted.

Drop a Note.

